Speed

For discussing walling related subjects not included in other headings.

Speed

Postby AndyCocker » Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:07 pm

I know this has been discussed at points elsewhere here, but maybe having it's own dedicated thread would be helpful to newcomers ie. me.

Obviously, as a beginner, I'm painfully slow at the moment, concentrating on learning to build correctly rather than just quickly, but I'd be interested in experienced waller's thoughts on just how much quality wall it's possible to consistently build in a single day.

I've heard anything from 3 to 7 yards per day (the 7 yards came from this link http://www.skiptonweb.co.uk/tourist/cragface_chron/03_drystonewalling/index.htm), and I wonder how this could be possible. Presently, I couldn't possibly imagine being able to do this.

I realise that how fast I become will depend totally on my capabilities, and will come with time, but I'd be interested in hearing other people's thoughts and find it an interesting topic for discussion.

Regards,
Andy
AndyCocker
Regular Subscriber
Regular Subscriber

Postby stonewaller » Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:58 am

Could go on for hours on this one. How long is a piece of string, and what is a good standard. I`m a Master Craftsman, I reckon to average around 3-4 square metres of what I would regard as reasonably good farm wall a day. However what I regard as reasonably good would walk an intermediate certificate. What I regard as good would work out at around 2-3 square metres a day and would walk many walling competitions. But then I`m notoriously fussy.

Then there`s stone types. One type of local stone I wouldn`t even reckon on achieveing that.

HoweverI do not believe anyone building 7 meters a day can be doing that good a job. Its going to have one or all of poor hearting, lots of tracing, slack face, poor line and batter.