Yet more advice...

For discussing walling related subjects not included in other headings.

Yet more advice...

Postby Bricktop » Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:31 am

Hi all. I just signed up here last night, and I've had a wee look through the posts. I couldnt find exactly what i was looking for, so hopefully some of you kind folk wont mind answering a couple of simple questions for a simple hopeful.

I'm 32 and based in Edinburgh, and hoping to move back to the Highlands soon. I desperately need a career change, and besides I need new skills in order to move. I've been looking a lot at dry stone walling (after looking at various other choices), and I'm very, very intrigued. I have zero experience though.

I have found some places that do levels 1 and 2 training courses. I'd just like to know a couple of things before i proceed.

Do I need to have had experience or practice to do these courses? And will I need to practice after doing level 1 in order to progress to level 2?
(Like rope access, where you need 1000 hours rope time to progress in to level 2..?)

What do I need to get started in the industry, is level 1 enough or do people tend not to take any notice of level 1's?

Once I have what I need, do I then need to go on to an apprenticeship, or can I hope to land a gig helping out someone local?

What is the minimum needed to go on and become self-employed?

I'm aware that it will take a lot of work to go up the levels, but i'm really excited about learning this skill. The college in Fort William does a rural skills course, but that spreads over several different skills across the year. Dry stone walling is included but not exlusively, and the next course doesnt start until August 2012. If i could be qualified before then, that would be better for me.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Bricktop

Re: Yet more advice...

Postby Tracey B » Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:41 pm