First time post from a new member

For discussing walling related subjects not included in other headings.

First time post from a new member

Postby Mike Tyson » Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:07 pm

Hello everybody.

My name is Mike, and yes, my surname really is Tyson! Thankfully I am nothing like my famous name sake.

I have stumbled upon the DSWA website, and subsequentally this discussion forum, as I am currently planning on pursuing a career that has walling heavily involved in it.

I was rasied on my parents farm, at Threlkeld just outside Keswick. I have been working in retail for the past 14 years and have become completly dissillusioned with it all. I have always helped my family on the farm in this time, and have now decided I would like to help my folks out, and also carve a new life for myself.

So in a nut shell, my plan is start my own business and be my own boss. I intend to spend the next 18-24 months helping my parents on their farm and also honing my walling and fencing skills before embarking on my own. Thankfully I have the perfect training ground, as time has gone by the wall gaps have increased and the fences have worsened on the farm and my parents are not getting younger. I feel it is time for me to give something back to them as they have always supported me.

There was no real purpose to this topic other than introducing myself to the community, I imagine I will be asking some questions and for advice from the vast exeprience there is from the exisiting members. I also thought it would be fun to post up a few snaps of the more challenging wall gaps I plan to tackle with my Dad this year! So hopeully I can get some uploaded soon and see what kind of reactions they bring!

In the mean time I would like to say I look forward to chatting to you all on the forum, and I hope I can achieve my ambitions.

Thanks,

Mike
Mike Tyson

Re: First time post from a new member

Postby Nigel » Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:14 pm

Welcome along,