Getting Started

For discussing walling related subjects not included in other headings.

Getting Started

Postby Kbuxton84 » Thu May 22, 2014 5:21 am

Hi everyone

I'm interested in getting into dry stone walling and was looking for advice as the best way to get started and any other info you think might be useful?

Thanks
Kbuxton84

Re: Getting Started

Postby Nigel » Thu May 22, 2014 5:42 am

Okay, first things first, can you build dry stone walls?

If you can, I strongly suggest you get along to a local branch meeting or training day and meet some other wallers, chat to them.

Tell us a bit more about where you are with this interest in doing this for a living.

Thanks
ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq ı ǝɯıʇ ʇsɐן ǝɥʇ sı sıɥʇ
Nigel
Administrator
Administrator

Postby Kbuxton84 » Thu May 22, 2014 8:34 pm

I have done some weekends with a qualified Waller but have no certificates. I work full time in a factory at the minute but prefer being outdoors and would like to learn a trade and I think this is the one that suits me best.

Thanks
Kbuxton84

Postby Nigel » Fri May 23, 2014 11:05 am

Thats a good start then,

You should know whats involved in the day to day part of building a wall, the rest of it is normal everyday business stuff really. Getting yourself known and so on is where it gets tough.

I would recommend some research on the other wallers in the area you want to work, see what you can offer that they cant, see who is qualified and who isnt,

The list can go on and on, good luck, if you want it, you can make it happen.

Nigel.
Nigel
Administrator
Administrator

Postby david perry » Sat May 24, 2014 9:02 pm

I'll echo Nigel's wise words.

I too have found it takes a loooooong time to get recognised. Farmers especially pass names around they've used and trust. Two wallers here never advertise and have zero internet presence and one is 'ex directory' too. They both work full time!!