How fast can you build an wall

For discussing walling related subjects not included in other headings.

How fast can you build an wall

Postby valleydale » Sun Feb 08, 2015 9:41 pm

Hello fellow drystone wallers, i need abit of advice with speed. I have been walling as a business for 2 years. I am an sole trader and been to college for training. However i am having trouble with speed. I had to do 3m in a day to pass my course which i mange to do. After that i was managing to do 2-4 m a day in business. however since last summer my speed as dropped dramatically, i am lucky now to get 1m done a day. i am not sure why this is i am a lot physically stronger than when i first started and my work is a lot better quality. I have done small jobs quicker. i finished 3m recently in a day not long ago but it seems i am alot slower more with big jobs. So my question is-

1. How many meters do you mange to do a day?
2. any advise in how i could improve my speed?
3. Any advise on why you think i have got alot slower?

I would really appreciate your advice i have been really struggling and if this continues i will have to stop my business as i am not even getting £40 a day at the moment. which i would really hate to have to do.

thank you
valleydale

Re: How fast can you build an wall

Postby Weardale90 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:56 pm

Valleydale

I'm probably not the right person to answer this as I haven’t been walling long and currently only wall on a part time basis.

At the moment I can put up 3m a day, if the conditions are good.

This the conditions are bad such as weather or hard-to-work stone that slows me right down.

A few weekends ago I only managed a meter.

Maybe your just working on hard walls these days?

Good luck
Weardale90
Regular Subscriber
Regular Subscriber

Postby jerryg » Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:40 pm

we don't like to answer those sorts of questions on here as it often leads to oneupmanships.